CFDA Awards Night: One Night of Fabulous Fashion

diane kruger and kirsten dunst at cfda awards

The 2009 CFDA Fashion Awards came and went. But what transpired in what the world considers as the Oscars of the fashion industry?

Held on June 16 at the Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center in New York City, the Fashion Awards gave honor to the top designers. It was a very grand night from start to finish. As guests entered the hall, there were sixty models lined across the grand outdoor staircase, ready to greet all of them. All of these models were dressed in a creation by the nominees for the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award.

It was also a star-studded night. Celebrities were present to take part in the event. Comedian Tracey Ullman was the host of the event. Some celebrities like Diane Kruger, Jimmy Fallon, Kerry Washington, and Blake Lively were presenters of awards. All of them looked fabulous wearing the creations of famous designers. Lovely & pregnant Heidi Klum, Ashely Olsen, Kirsten Dunst and Claire Danes were also present.

First Lady Michelle Obama was also a part of the awards night. Although she could not make it live, she sent a taped message from the White House as she accepted the Board of Director’s Special Tribute Award. Mrs. Obama has contributed a lot to the fashion industry through her unique style.

Here’s a list of the winners and honorees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year – Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte
Menswear Designer of the Year – Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders and Italo Zucchelli Calvin Klein Collection.
Accessory Designer of the Year – Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza
Swarovski Awards
Swarovksi Award for Emerging Talent Womenswear – Alexander Wang
Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent Menswear – Tim Hamilton
Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent Accessory Design – Justin Guinta for Subversive Jewelry
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award – Anna Sui
International Award – Marc Jacobs and Louis Vuitton.
Eleanor Lambert Award – GQ Creative Director Jim Moore
Eugenia Sheppard Award – WWD’s Edward Mendoza
Board of Director’s Special Tribute – First Lady Michelle Obama
Popular Vote Award – Ralph Lauren

comments powered by Disqus